Broccoli Cheddar Soup


The name itself is enough to make me salivate. I first tasted this soup in Dallas at our local Quizno’s  and it immediately moved up in my list of soups.I tasted it again at Subway and also in some cafes.I attempted making this from soup mixes and i t tasted fine.Today,when I am sick at home,I felt like having this ..I wanted the same taste!! Yes,I am crazy like that..
Anyway,I found this recipe but,didn’t have everything at home..So,I innovated..(umm whats new? )

DSC03898

 

DSC03900 

You like?? Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

2 tsp butter
1 small onion diced
1/2 clove garlic,fine chopped,
3/4 cup broccoli,chopped fine
1&1/4 cup milk
2 cups water
3 tbsp whole wheat flour
1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese
salt and pepper to taste

Preparation

Melt butter in a pot,add onion and fry till softened.Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute.Stir in the broccoli and add salt,as per taste.Add the water and bring it to boil,till the broccoli,turns tender.
In a bowl,whisk the flour into the milk.Stir into the soup,stirring intermittently.When the soup starts to bubble,lower the flame and stir in the cheese.At this point,check the salt and add some,if required.Add the pepper.

This is a very good meal,even for little ones,though you might want to run it through the blender to mash the vegetable bits..for early solid eaters:D

Ms.Aadya used to love this soup,when she was a baby..I was worried,if she will eat it now.And it turns out,she loved it! Yayyy I am soo happy.


2 Comments on “Broccoli Cheddar Soup”

  1. knitnkanmani says:

    i am going to try this 🙂 thank you


Leave a comment