Spinach Pulav and Beetroot Raita



This is one of my favorite dinner combination,especially on a friday night or on weekends.I love the colors it brings to the dinner table,making it festive right away. And both the dishes are loaded with vitamins.Its Diet Food,tasting like comfort food!
Without further ado,here are the recipes-

Spinach Pulav

Ingredients-
2 cups rice
2 cup chopped spinach
1 cup grate carrot
1 onion(medium sized) finely chopped.
1 green chili-chopped
1 tsp ginger-garlic paste
2 tsps chopped corriander leaves
Cummin Seeds
Whole spices-(2-3 ,each)
{Cardamom,Clove,Pepper corn,Bay leaves}
1 tsp red chili powder
1/2 tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp corriander-cummin powder.
Oil 2 tsps
water-as required for the rice you are using.normally I use 3 cups,for my basmati,when making pulav.
salt to taste

Preparation-
Wash and soak rice for 10-15 minutes.
In a pan,heat oil,add cummin seeds and whole spices.Fry for a minute,add onions and saute’ till gold brown.Add ginger-garlic paste mix well and add the spinach and carrots,followed by rice,green chillies and corriander. Add all the spice powders and salt to taste.Add the water and bring it to a boil.Lower flame,cover and simmer till rice is cooked.
Garnish with onion rings and chopped corriander and serve hot with Raita and Papad.

Time required-20 mins plus chopping time.

Beetroot Raita-

Ingredients-
1 cup fresh low fat yogurt
1/4 cup boiled and grated beetroot
1/2 onion finely chopped
1 green chili finely chopped
1 tsp chopped corriander.
salt to taste
1/2 tsp cummin powder.

Preparation-Mix everything together.Serve chilled,with chapati,rice or even as a dip.

I am re-posting this because,this is my entry for the Combo event on Foodelicous.This is the first time,I am ever entering in a food-blog competition.


11 Comments on “Spinach Pulav and Beetroot Raita”

  1. Vidya Nadar says:

    Hey Trishna,

    I tried your above recipe for spinach pulav and beetroot raita. It was amazing. I made the pulav with brown rice and it still tasted amazing. Thank youuuuuuuuuu. Waiting for more healthy recipes and tips. ( i am trying to follow your advice in the morinng and also has got maneet hooked on to it. Hopefully i will keep up.)

    Love,
    Vidya

  2. Mamata says:

    I am for sure going to try this!!! Beetroot and spinach both are my favourite!! 🙂

  3. Ooh..I’m always on the lookout for more spinach recipe…shall try this out now!

  4. oh i like the spinach pulao but i dont like beetroot 😦

    and u know what i was going to post one baked spinach rice recipe too today for friday feast… now will do it next week 😉

  5. Pari says:

    Dear Trish, read ur comment in my blog. Sorry I did not receive ur entry, in fact since you had mentioned earlier too that u are sending it, I had checked my mail box 2-3 times. I can only request u to pls send me again at cookingoodfood@gmail.com. I will update it in my post.

  6. Swaram says:

    Hey the pulao looks and sounds yummy .. will give it a try soon 🙂


Leave a comment