Tomato Chicken Curry


I loved tomatoes when I was a kid.So much that I even had a nickname for tomatoes..”Munnu” everytime I wanted to eat a tomato,I would ask my mom for a munnu! But,as I grew up my love for tomatoes slowly started to fade away,so much that when I started cooking,I would hardly use any tomatoes -unless it was for salads or soups.

Last week I had a whole bunch of tomatoes lying around. Neither of us was in mood for soup or salad and so,I sat down with my xeroxed copy of my mom’s recipe book and dug up a recipe which I loved when I was kid.But here’s the thing-it was a recipe for Tomato Chicken.

Now,using those tomatoes was one thing but cooking tomato chicken was another.While I always enjoyed this dish growing up,I wasn’t sure if it would turn out the same way.And as I started gathering the ingredients,I realised the recipe didnt call for any onions! Chicken curry without onions?No way!I was still apprehensive but my mouth was watering remembering the tomato Chicken curry my mom used to dish out. So,thinking of all those days so many years ago, sat down to chop tomatoes..remembering the aroma filling through the dining room,and just the right amount of sunlight filtering through those crisp white curtains,with strawberry prints.
Anyway so here’s the recipe-

Ingredients-

1kg chicken

1 kg tomato

2tsp ginger-garlic-green chili paste(preferably fresh)

2 bell peppers

2 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp turmeric powder

1/2 tsp garam masala.

1 tbsp cashew paste.(soak cashew nuts in warm water for about 15minutes and grind)

salt to taste

1/4cup oil for cooking.

Preparation-

Clean and cut chicken into pieces of desired size.Apply a little salt and turmeric powder to the chicken piece and keep aside.

Chop tomatoes and bell peppers into big chunks.

In a heavy bottomed pot, heat oil and add the chicken pieces. Fry the chicken till it changes color. Add ginger -garlic paste and fry for about 2 minutes.Add salt,chili powder and turmeric powder too.

Add peppers and fry for another 2-3 minutes.

Add tomatoes and cook on a medium heat till tomatoes and chicken are cooked. Add cashew paste and simmer for another 5 minutes.Serve hot over rice or with roti.

And the vedict- “Just the right dash of hot and tangy flavors!”said DH!

P.S. I tried this recipe by substituting chicken with Paneer and it turned out even more tastier! Sorry I dont have pictures right now.Will upload them soon.

Go on try it and do come back and tell me how you liked it!


4 Comments on “Tomato Chicken Curry”

  1. Asha says:

    Sounds great , would love to look at it too!:))I love Tomato chicken too, I cooked one Tamil Nadu style.Here are my blogs if you are interested.http://foodieshope.blogspot.comhttp://aromahope.blogspot.comHappy holidays. Good to meet you.

  2. Indo Curry says:

    Thanks for the nice recipe. I tried it and it turned out to be very delicious.Indian Recipes are the most delicious recipes in the world !

  3. Vidya Nadar says:

    As usual, I didnt have all the ingredients and I had not planned in advance. So substituted the cashews with peanuts and also since didnt have a blender had to kind of crush them into something not very close to a paste. But still the chicken turned out amazing. I used chicken drumsticks and had it with quinoa and it was yum.

    Tankkkkkkkkkkkk uuuuuuuuuuu,
    Vidya.


Leave a comment